The Dead

There isn’t much to say about the dead.
There has never been.
They have fallen in their dusty bed.

They have ceased their lonely tread.
They have made their sin.
There isn’t much to say about the dead.

They had watched the listless breaking of the bread.
They had seen the wine swirl and spin.
They have fallen in their dusty bed.

They had entered a pool of sin and dread.
They had curdled to thick, rigid tin.
There isn’t much to say about the dead.

There had been the thinning, tearing of the thread,
of lines that none could underpin.
They had fallen in their dusty bed.

Sunken eyes on a shriveled head;
the touch of unction on the skin.
There isn’t much to say about the dead.

Into nothingness they were led.
They followed the lying, crying grin.
They have fallen in their dusty bed.

Now – there isn’t much to be said.
There is nowhere to start, begin.
There isn’t much to say about the dead.
They have fallen in their dusty bed.

2 thoughts on “The Dead

  1. Stella, thank you for following my blog and I also enjoy your work, as well. Your work seems to have a dark tone, that I think is really cool. A lot of people only want to read the flowery, romantic stuff. My moods are all over the place and I think my writing shows that. I have many love poems, but I also have quite a few concerning addiction, betrayal, and depression. Your poems have a stark beauty that is riveting. Do you include tags with your posts ? You put submit keywords there before you post to publish and it helps draw more followers to your work. ( for this poem you might put poetry, poems, death, nothingness…anything pertaining to the piece ) Maybe you already do, I am just surprised there aren’t more people following you ! You now have one more follower and I look forward to reading more from you.
    Thanks and have a great week, Stella……….JEFF

    • stellawrote says:

      Thank you right back. I’m only starting my adventure here on WordPress and your words really mean a lot. My work does seem to go towards the darker, more serious side, however I am currently working on a more up-beat, comedic, breezy project, which will balance my blog. Thank you again for your kind words and your suggestion about the tags. I’ll be sure to add this feature to my posts, since it really is useful in providing the gist of what is in front of the reader.
      Jeff, enjoy this new, uniquely chaotic Monday.
      “The world is full of Mondays.” (Peanuts)

Leave a Reply

